Daily Sabah — Greek authorities have made a one year extension for the special visa agreement between Turkey and Greece applicable to seven Greek islands which was abolished February on the grounds that the arrangement overruled the Schengen Visa Agreement.

”Finally, our efforts have been fruitful, EU Commissioner Dimitris Avramopoulos told the mayors of the islands in question that the special visa agreement with Turks will be reinstituted,” Greece’s Alternate Minister of Foreign Affairs Georgios Katrougalos said.

Under the special agreement, which came into effect three years ago, Turkish tourists wishing to visit the Aegean Greek islands of Chios, Lesbos, Samos, Symi, Rhodes, Kos and Kastellorizo could get their visa upon arrival to the islands without needing to take prior steps. The special Schengen visas permit Turks to stay on the islands for between one and three days.